Franschhoek Village Cycle | 3 Hours
A Short Excursion of Historic and Culinary Franschhoek
We start our Franschhoek Village Cycle Tour from the historic Dutch Reformed churchyard on main road.
The first Europeans to settle in the valley was a group of French Huguenots who, after being persecuted for their Protestant faith, left France and, in 1688, were given land by the Dutch East India Company in what was then known as Olifantshoek (Elephant’s Corner).’
The newcomers named their farms La Motte, Bourgogne, Champagne and La Provence and other names reminiscent of their homeland and began to cultivate wines. By the early 18th Century the valley was referred to as ‘de France Hoek’ (the French Corner) and by 1805 Franschhoek was the official name.
The fascinating tour highlights significant Huguenot farms and how building styles changed over the years. We learn how to identify the early Cape Dutch buildings with their distinctive, ornate rounded gables, symmetrical windows and H-shaped design, and those that had been ‘Victorianised’ with the addition of verandahs and sash windows.
We stop at the Huegenot Chocolate Factory for a tour and tasting before turning back to La Bri, this time through the vineyards of Mont Rochelle for the trip's wine tasting. A fitting nod to the wine culture of Franschhoek!
NOTE: the tour can be extended to include two wine tastings and one cellar tour, culminating in a Half-Day Trip.
Also see the description of our Full-Day Franschhoek Cycle